IZAGIRRE, Koldo

(Altza, 1953)

Dès sa jeunesse, Koldo Izagirre entend l'appel de la littérature et c'est cela même qui le pousse, durant les dernières années du franquisme, à participer à différents mouvements culturels émergeant aux quatre coins du Pays Basque. Il crée, avec Bernardo Atxaga, le magazine Ustela au parcours bref mais à l'importance non négligeable dans l'histoire de la littérature basque des dernières décennies ; il est également à l'origine de Oh! Euzkadi!, avec Ramon Saizarbitoria.

A la même époque que Ustela et Oh! Euzkadi!, c'est-à-dire à la fin des années 1970, Izagirre publie ses premiers recueils de poèmes : Itsaso ahantzia (Kriseilu, 1976), Oinaze zaharrera (Ustela saila, 1977), et Guardasola ahantzia (Ustela saila, 1978). Puis une sorte de crise créative l'éloigne de la poésie pendant dix longues années, jusqu'à la publication du recueil de poèmes Balizko erroten erresuma (Susa, 1989), qui suppose la fin ou plutôt le dépassement de cette période. En effet, Izagirre déclare à propos de cette œuvre : « C'est ici que s'achève mon adolescence ou la préhistoire de l'auteur Izagirre » (in Etxeberria, Hasier. Bost idazle, Alberdania, Irun, 2002). D'après Iñaki Aldekoa, « le livre commence sur ce que l'on pourrait appeler une analyse critique du passé, puis évoque ceux qui, de part leur destin, ont contribué à revaloriser la poésie. C'est le cas de Lauaxeta –dont l'œuvre a souvent été comparée à son contemporain Garcia Lorca- ou de ceux qui n'ont eu d'autres ailes –contrairement aux hauteurs célestes de Lizardi- que celle de la corde qui les aida à se pendre du plafond de leur cellule. C'est également le cas d'Aresti, référence des jeunes générations et revendiqué comme symbole et moteur de la nouvelle ère avec Balizko erroten erresuma » (in Aldekoa, Iñaki. Historia de la literatura vasca, Erein, Donostia, 2004).

Dans le recueil de poèmes Non dago Basques' Harbour (Susa, 1997), Izagirre se rappelle la ville de Pasaia de son enfance, son ambiance portuaire –l'auteur, natif d'Altza, y a en effet vécu-.
« Peu importe que ce paysage de la mémoire soit vécu ou rêvé (toujours reconstruit), puisque nous sommes guidés par les yeux écarquillés de l'enfant et par ses oreilles attentives à l'environnement. C'est donc l'enfance du poète qui aborde l'imaginaire du port (des bateaux arborant plusieurs drapeaux, des sous-marins abandonnés, des grues, des marchandises, des personnes en tous genres imprégnées d'alcool et de sexe...), et une autre voix poétique, la voix de l'adulte, traverse le regard de l'enfant pour donner un sens au monde. (...) La poésie d'Izagirre s'adresse à nous avec la colère de la dissidence. Mais quel est donc son territoire ? Son espace, c'est la mer. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que l'image qui apparaisse le plus dans cette poésie soit celle de l'utopie ou, autrement dit, celle du bateau qui recherche l'île qui accueillera la patrie rêvée », explique Aldekoa (in Aldekoa, Iñaki. Op. cit.).

Dans le sens de cette « patrie rêvée » que mentionne Aldekoa, notons que l'idéologie du poète apparaît par bribes dans Balizko erroten erresuma, mais elle transpire littéralement dans Non dago Basques' Harbour. D'après Izagirre lui-même, « le titre complet est Non dago Basques' Harbour eta beste madarikazio batzuk (Où est Basques' Harbour et autres blasphèmes). Il ne s'agit donc pas d'une question mais bien d'une malédiction. Cela nous explique que l'important réside précisément dans le voyage et non dans l'arrivée à un port. L'important, c'est le voyage ; plus on est loin, plus on est libre, quel que soit le niveau d'interprétation. Je persiste et signe : l'objectif est de voyager, l'objectif ne se reflètera pas dans les choses communes » (in Etxeberria, Hasier. Op. cit.).

Les dernières œuvres qu'il a publiées dans le domaine de la poésie sont Teilatuko lizarra (Susa, 2006), œuvre recueillant des poèmes-chants écrits par Izagirre et mis en musique par Joseba Tapia, et le recueil de poèmes Rimmel (Susa, 2006). « Dans sa dernière œuvre, Koldo Izagirre aborde la naissance de sa fille, l'enfance, l'école et la liberté. Quand un enfant arrive en ce monde, nous renaissons avec lui, pleins de peur, de terreur et de cruauté. C'est ce qu'évoque, avec une imagination incroyable, ce Rimmel qui nous balance dans le berceau des souvenirs et des rêves ». « (...) L'œuvre est divisée en trois parties. La première évoque la naissance, la deuxième l'apprentissage –le savoir de la maison et de l'école–, et la troisième la liberté. Ces trois notions représentent des passages de notre vie qui n'ont pas à être enseignés. Car le refrain s'apprend par la répétition ; il acquiert une vérité incroyable lors de la naissance d'une fille, et parallèlement, de ses parents –aux yeux de la fille- » (in Garro, Lander. "Haurraren begietara jaiotzea", Oarsoaldeko Hitza, 2006-12-01).

Quant au roman, les premières publications de l'auteur guipúzcoan ont été Zergatik bai (Kriseilu, 1977) et Gauzetan (Ustela saila, 1979). D'après Mari Jose Olaziregi, « Gauzetan représente l'une des premières tentatives modernes basques dans le domaine de la littérature fantastique ». « Ce livre reflète les possibilités sémantiques et symboliques de la prose d'Izagirre, une prose baignée d'animisme et cherchant à aller au-delà de l'apparence externe de la réalité » (in Olaziregi, Mari Jose. Euskal eleberriaren historia, Labayru, Bilbao, 2002).

En revanche, Euzkadi merezi zuten (Hordago, 1984) est un roman réaliste qui retrace les débuts de la Guerre Civile au Pays Basque. Toutefois, d'après Olaziregi, « ici, réalisme ne signifie par chronique objective et fidèle des évènements, mais reconstruction stylistique suggestive et baroque des évènements racontés. L'utilisation du langage populaire et de l'oral sont, dans la prose d'Izagirre, des caractéristiques permanentes au long de son parcours littéraire » (in Olaziregi, Mari Jose. Op. cit.).

Viennent ensuite les œuvres Mendekuak (Susa, 1987) et Metxa esaten dioten agirretar baten ibili herrenak (Elkar, 1991), ce dernier ayant valu à Izagirre le premier prix du concours Bilintx de Littérature Jeunesse. Metxa esaten dioten... conte quatorze histoires dont le protagoniste est Nikola de Agirre, dit Metxa, un vieillard têtu et malicieux. Quant à l'œuvre Ez duk erraza, konpai! (Susa, 1995), située à Cuba, elle pourrait être classée parmi les chroniques, bien que l'auteur lui-même y reconnaisse un travail assez éclectique. «... Le livre est fantastique, en quelque sorte. On y trouve de la fiction, mais aussi des parties de reportage. Quant aux personnages, les véritables habitants sont mêlés aux personnages fictifs... Cette chronique est un hybride... » (in Etxeberria, Hasier. Op. cit.). Merry Christmas, Panama! esan zuen heriotzak (Euskaldunon Egunkaria, 1999) est plus clairement incluse dans la chronique.

Mentionnons également les romans Vladimir (Erein, 1996) et Nik ere Germinal! egin gura nuen aldarri (Susa, 1998). Izagirre explique qu'il a voulu, dans le roman Nik ere Germinal! egin gura nuen aldarri, décrire les raisons personnelles, la souffrance et la terreur d'un activiste politique condamné à mort ; en l'occurrence, le personnage principal est un activiste basque, mais on devine derrière lui l'ombre d'Angiolillo, anarchiste italien condamné à mort pour avoir assassiné Cánovas del Castillo. En effet, le protagoniste déclare qu'il veut lui aussi crier "Germinal!" avant d'être exécuté, parce que ce furent les dernières paroles d'Angiolillo. D'après Olaziregi, « c'est la richesse de la stratégie narrative (sauts chronologiques incessants, alternance de différents focalisateurs, utilisation du dialecte biscayen dans la narration principale...) qui éloigne Nik ere Germinal! egin gura nuen aldarri du genre historique pour en faire la recréation littéraire d'un évènement historique » (in Olaziregi, Mari Jose. Op. cit.).

L'activiste qui ressent une sorte de lien avec Angiolillo comme le protagoniste Metxa reflètent des personnages prêts à vivre des situations extrêmes pour défendre leurs idées. D'après Izagirre lui-même, les personnages « sont cohérents sans être des stéréotypes. Ce ne sont pas des héros positifs, c'est-à-dire des héros du réalisme social. Les deux font preuve d'un grand individualisme, et c'est précisément ce sur quoi se fonde leur rage. Ils nagent à contre-courant » (in Etxeberria, Hasier. Op. cit.).

L'auteur reprend l'image de Metxa dans l'œuvre Agirre zaharraren kartzelaldi berriak (EEF-Elkar, 1999) écrite grâce à la bourse Joseba Jaka attribuée par la Fondation Euskalgintza Elkarlanean, mais la fantaisie y est plus présente que dans Metxa esaten dioten agirretar baten ibili herrenak. L'auteur définit même cette histoire comme une « farce pseudo-burlesque ».

Izagirre a également travaillé l'essai -Gerraurreko literatur kritika (écrit avec Iñigo Aranbarri ; Labayru; 1996), Gure zinemaren historia petrala (Susa, 1996), Incursiones en territorio enemigo (Pamiela, 1997), Euskararen historia txikia Donostian (Susa, 1998)-, ainsi que la biographie -Elgeta, sasiaren sustraiak (Trikitixa Elkartea, 2000)-. Par ailleurs, il a écrit le scénario d'un film -Ke arteko egunak (Elkar, 1990)-, et les anthologies poétiques qui composent XX. Mendeko Poesia Kaierak (Susa, 2000-2002) ont été publiées sous sa direction. Le guipúzcoan a également beaucoup travaillé dans le domaine de la traduction ; il a ainsi traduit en langue basque Alfonso R. Castelao -Zirtzilak-Kristalezko begia (Susa, 1986)-, Uxio Novoneyra -Bazterrak-Os eidos (Pamiela, 1988)-, Vladimir Maiakovski -Poemak (Susa, 1993)-, Joan Salvat-Papasseit -Antologia (Pamiela, 1995)-, Prosper Mérimée -Mateo Falkone eta beste zenbait istorio (Elkar, 1995)-, Jacques Prévert -Ume txintxoak ez diren umeendako ipuinak (Txalaparta, 1996)- ou Victor Hugo -Jaizkibel (Kilometroak, 1997); Idi orgaren karranka (Elkar, 2002)-, entre autres.

Izagirre revient au conte avec Sua nahi, Mr. Churchill? (Susa, 2005). Cette œuvre composée de dix-sept histoires reprend les images du recueil de poèmes Non dago Basques' Harbour. « La Guerre Civile est la période mythique du livre ; de nombreuses histoires existant encore aujourd'hui sont nées à cette époque. L'auteur rassemble ces histoires grâce aux propos de témoins, que ce soit dans les maisons de retraite ou dans les bars. Izagirre développe toutes sortes d'histoires, mettant en scène des personnages les plus célèbres aux plus illustres inconnus (parues ou non dans les journaux). Ces dernières sont précisément les plus intéressantes » (in Roque, Iñigo. "Hau mundu ttipi arranoa!", Mugalari, 2006-01-21).


Pour plus d'information sur l'auteur et son œuvre :

© Traduction : Nahia Zubeldia

© Photo : Zaldi Ero

© Non dago Basques' Harbour : Susa

© Nik ere Germinal! egin gura nuen aldarri : Susa

© Sua nahi, Mr. Churchill? : Susa

IZAGIRRE, Koldo

(Altza, 1953)

Koldo Izagirre felt the call of literature from a young age, and this feeling led him to take part in the cultural movements that arose throughout the Basque Country in the last years of the Franco era. He was one of the founders, with Bernardo Atxaga, of the journal Ustela [Rotten], which, though its existence was brief, holds an important position in the recent history of Basque literature; he also worked to publish the journal Oh! Euzkadi! [Oh! Basque Country!] with the assistance of Ramon Saizarbitoria.

During the same period of time that Ustela and Oh! Euzkadi! were published, that is, in the late 1970s, Izagirre published his first collections of poems, Itsaso ahantzia [The Forgotten Sea] (Kriseilu, 1976), Oinaze zaharrera [Toward an Ancient Suffering] (Ustela Collection, 1977) and Guardasola ahantzia [The Forgotten Umbrella] (Ustela Collection, 1978). Writer's block then caused the author to give up poetry for ten years. This period came to an end, or rather, was overcome, with the collection of poems, Balizko erroten erresuma [The Land of Imaginary Mills] (Susa, 1989), about which Izagirre says, "with this work, I took leave of my adolescence, that is, of the prehistory of Izagirre the writer (in Etxeberria, Hasier. Bost idazle [Five Writers], Alberdania, Irun, 2002). According to Iñaki Aldekoa, "the book begins with what we could call a critical examination of the past in order to then remind us of those whose destiny it is to enhance the value of poetry. Lauaxeta, for example, whose work was so often compared to that of his contemporary, Garcia Lorca, or those whose work never attained the heavenly heights of Lizardi's but whose wings were broken against the ceilings of their cells. This is true as well in the case of Aresti, mentor of younger generations who with Balizko erroten erresuma was restored to his rightful position as the symbol and catalyst of a new dawn." (in Aldekoa, Iñaki. Historia de la literatura vasca [History of Basque Literature], Erein, San Sebastian, 2004).

In his collection of poems Non dago Basques' Harbour [Where is Basques' Harbour] (Susa, 1997), on the other hand, Izagirre evokes the atmosphere of the port of Pasajes at the time of his childhood for, although he was born in Altza, it was in Pasajes that he grew up. "In this landscape of memory, which is always reconstructed and therefore it matters little whether it was truly experienced or merely dreamed, the child's open eyes and ears always alert to what is going on around him will guide us. Thus, it is the poet's childhood that approaches the imaginary world of the port (ships with different flags, abandoned submarines, cranes, freight, people of all types exuding sex and alcohol...), and it is another poematic voice, an adult voice, that pervades the child's vision and makes sense of the world. (...) Izagirre's poetry speaks to us out of the rage of dissent. But what is its homeland? His territory is the sea. It is unsurprising, therefore, that in his poetry, the most common image is that of Utopia or, in other words, a ship that seeks an island that will shelter the dreamed-of homeland," explains Aldekoa (in Aldekoa, Iñaki. Op. cit.).

With respect to the "dreamed-of homeland" mentioned by Aldekoa, it must be said that, although there were early indications of it in Balizko erroten erresuma, it is in Non dago Basques' Harbour that the poet's ideology is first seen clearly. As Izagirre himself says, "Non dago Basques' Harbour eta beste madarikazio batzuk [Where is Basques' Harbour and Other Curses] is the full title. It is not a question, but a curse. It shows that the important thing is the voyage, rather than the arrival at a port. The important thing is the voyage, the farther the freer and, interpreting this on all levels, I take it as my philosophy that the goal is the voyage, the goal is not reflected in ordinary things" (in Etxeberria, Hasier. Op. cit.).

In the genre of poetry, we also have Izagirre's more recent works, Teilatuko lizarra [The Ash Tree on the Roof] (Susa, 2006), poem-songs written by Izagirre and set to music by Joseba Tapia, and the collection of poems Rimmel [Rimmel] (Susa, 2006). "Native of Pasajes Koldo Izagirre takes the birth of his daughter, her childhood, school years and freedom as the subjects of his latest book. A child is born, and we are born again with her, in awe, fear and awkwardness. Rimmel, with its tremendous images, rocks us in the cradle of memory and dream." (...) The work is divided into three parts. Birth appears in the first, learning – both at home and at school – in the second, and freedom in the third. All three are periods of time without learning in our lives" (in Garro, Lander. "Haurraren begietara jaiotzea," Oarsoaldeko Hitza, 1 December, 2006).

With respect to narrative, the Guipuzcoan author's first publications were the collections of stories, Zergatik bai [Why] (Kriseilu, 1977) and Gauzetan [In Things] (Ustela Collection, 1979). Mari Jose Olaziregi points out that Gauzetan "was one of the first forays of modern Basque literature into fantastic literature. This book is an example of the semantic and symbolic capacity of Izagirre's prose, a prose steeped in an animism that goes beyond an external vision of reality" (in Olaziregi, Mari Jose. Euskal eleberriaren historia [A History of the Basque Novel], Labayru, Bilbao, 2002).

In contrast, Euzkadi merezi zuten [They Deserved Euzkadi] (Hordago, 1984) is a realist novel that examines how the Spanish Civil War began in the Basque Country. "But in this case, realism does not mean an objective and faithful chronicle of events, but rather a suggestive and Baroque stylistic recreation of the events being narrated. The rural touch and the use of particular verbal turns of phrase in Izagirre's prose are characteristics that appear consistently throughout the author's literary career," explains Olaziregi (in Olaziregi, Mari Jose, Op. cit.).

After this work came Mendekuak [Vengeance] (Susa, 1987) and Metxa esaten dioten agirretar baten ibili herrenak [The Misadventures of an Agirre Called Metxa] (Elkar, 1991), with which Izagirre won first prize in the Bilintx Young People's Literature competition. Metxa consists of fourteen stories whose protagonist is the hot-headed and rebellious old man, Nikola da Agirre, nicknamed Metxa. Ez duk erraza, konpai! [It's Not Easy, Man!] (Susa, 1995), which is set in Cuba, would have to be categorized as a chronicle, though the author himself confesses that this work is rather eclectic: "It's almost a fantasy, to put it one way. It's partially fiction, but some parts of it are articles. Then fictional characters are mixed up with real people... It's a hybrid chronicle..." (in Etxeberria, Hasier. Op. cit.). In this sense, Izagirre's work Merry Christmas, Panama! esan zuen heriotzak [Merry Christmas, Panama! said death] (Euskaldunon Egunkaria, 1999) can be more firmly classified as a chronicle.

We must of course mention the novels Vladimir [Vladimir] (Erein, 1996) and Nik ere Germinal! egin gura nuen aldarri [I Also Wanted to Shout Germinal!] (Susa, 1998). Izagirre has said that in the novel Nik ere Germinal! egin gura nuen aldarri, he wanted to describe the personal motivations, suffering and fear of a political activist condemned to death and that therefore, the protagonist of the story is a Basque activist. But behind this protagonist's story we see the shadow of the Italian anarchist Angiolillo, who was condemned to death by garrotting for his assassination of Cánovas del Castillo. Indeed, at a certain moment in the story, it emerges that the protagonist wants to shout "Germinal!" before being executed because this was the last word uttered by Angiolillo. In Olaziregi's opinion, "the richness of the narrative strategy (constant chronological leaps, changes in narrative focus, the use of the Vizcayan dialect of Basque in the primary narrative) distinguishes Nik ere Germinal! egin gura nuen aldarri from the historical genre and instead turns it into the literary recreation of an historical event" (in Olaziregi, Mari Jose. Op. cit.).

Both the activist who feels some sort of bond with Angiolillo and Metxa are examples of characters who are willing to go to extremes to defend their ideas. According to Izagirre, these characters are "coherent, but they're not stereotypes. They are not positive heroes, that is, heroes of social realism. They both show great individualism, which is the basis for their rage. They go against the tide" (in Etxeberria, Hasier. Op. cit.).

The figure of Metxa makes a return in Agirre zaharraren kartzelaldi berriak [The New Imprisonments of Old Agirre] (EEF-Elkar, 1999), which was completed with the assistance of a Joseba Jaka grant from the Euskalgintza Elkarlanean Foundation, but fantasy plays a larger role in this work than in Metxa esaten dioten agirretar baten ibili herrenak. The writer calls Agirre "a pseudo-burlesque farce."

Izagirre has also tried his hand at literary essay with Gerraurreko literatur kritika [Pre-War Literary Criticism] (written with Iñigo Aranbarri; Labayru, 1996), Gure zinemaren historia petrala [The Roguish History of Our Cinema] (Susa, 1996), Incursiones en territorio enemigo [Incursions into Enemy Territory] (Pamiela, 1997) and Euskararen historia txikia Donostian [A Short History of Basque in San Sebastian] (Susa, 1998), and at biography with Elgeta, sasiaren sustraiak [Elgeta, The Roots of the Bramble] (Trikitixa Elkartea, 2000). Additionally, he wrote the script for a film, Ke arteko egunak [Days of Smoke] (Elkar, 1990), and the anthologies of poetry that comprise the XX. Mendeko Poesia Kaierak [Cahiers of 20th Century Poetry] (Susa, 2000-2002) were published under his direction. The Guipuzcoan author has also done considerable work in translation, having translated the following works, among others, into Basque: Zirtzilak – Kristalezko begia (Susa, 1986) by Alfonso R. Castelao, Bazterrak Os eidos (Pamiela, 1988) by Uxio Novoneyra, Poemak (Susa, 1993) by Vladimir Maiakovski, Antologia (Pamiela, 1995) by Joan Salvat-Papasseit, Mateo Falkone eta beste zenbait istorio (Elkar, 1995) by Prosper Mérimée, Ume txintxoak ez diren umeendako ipuinak (Txalaparta, 1996) by Jacques Prévert, and Jaizkibel (Kilometroak, 1997) and Idi orgaren karranka (Elkar, 2002) by Victor Hugo.

With Sua nahi, Mr. Churchill? [Need a Light, Mr. Churchill?] (Susa, 2005), Izagirre returned to storytelling. The seventeen stories that comprise the book revisit the images introduced earlier in the collection of poems, Non dago Basques' Harbour. "The Spanish Civil War is the book's mythical time, a time of many stories that have endured until today. The writer unites them in the voice of witnesses, whether in the old folks' home or in bars. Izagirre develops stories of all sorts, using not only the best known characters but also the most insignificant (whether they appear in newspapers or not). The latter of course are more worth knowing" (in Roque, Iñigo. "Hau mundo ttipi arranoa!" Mugalari, 21 January, 2006).


For more information on Koldo Izagirre and his works:

© Translation: Kristin Addis

© Photo: Zaldi Ero

© Non dago Basques' Harbour: Susa

© Nik ere Germinal! egin gura nuen aldarri: Susa

© Sua nahi, Mr. Churchill?: Susa